Champions of Character

Mark Nash, Kathryn Olds, Larry Stein

Kathryn Olds Honored for "Persuasiveness"


Kathryn Olds was presented before the Edmond City Council in recognition as Champion of Character for Persuasiveness at the November 26th city council meeting.

Olds began working part-time for the Trails South Homeowner’s Association in 1989. Her job included serving 588 residents in the neighborhood. Mark Nash, who served as President of the Trails South HOA for ten years nominated her.

He described Olds’ ability to listen to complaints and understand the perspective of others. She helped defuse situations so that it wasn’t necessary for the board of directors to become involved. 

According to Mr. Nash, her persuasiveness allowed the HOA to avoid legal action and save time and money. Both the HOA and the residents of the neighborhood benefited. 

Nash said, “Kathryn's relentless attention to detail and ability to listen to the members of the association has served Trails South well for the past 29 years.” 

Newly elected Oklahoma County Assessor, Larry Stein, served on the Trails South HOA with Olds and Nash. He said Kathryn Olds worked with “quiet diligence,” doing her best to promote, protect and accomplish the goals to the satisfaction of everyone concerned.

Persuasiveness isn’t a character trait Kathryn would use to describe herself. But she acknowledges that it is important to let people know that their contribution to a situation is valuable. 

Olds said, “Most people are willing to cooperate if they feel they are needed and appreciated.”

Kathryn was born and grew up in Lincoln County. She moved to Edmond in 1981, where she married her husband, Ben, in 1984. At the time that she went to work for the Trails South HOA she was a homemaker and grandmother of six. She retired August 31st of this year.

Mark Nash said, “She has guided, counseled and persuaded many of us who are active in the City of Edmond today. For her persuasiveness and her dedication to her neighborhood and city at-large, we all should thank Kathryn Olds.”

On behalf of the City of Edmond and the Character Council of Edmond, Kathryn Olds was honored before the City Council as a Champion of Character for exemplifying the character trait of Persuasiveness, effectively communicating with others so they can better understand. 

Pictured-Mark Nash, Kathryn Olds, Larry Stein

To Nominate a Champion of Character

Please complete the form located on our website to recognize an Edmond citizen for a specific character trait. Forms may be submitted from the website or mailed to the 

Character Council of Edmond 

Champions of Character

PO Box 392 

Edmond, OK 73083-0392.

Champions of Character

Champions of Character Honorees

2010 to Present

  • Kathryn Olds  Persuasiveness November, 2018
  • Jill Castilla  Creativity  September, 2018
  • Maureen Coury Compassion January, 2018
  • KC Williams Dependability Ocotber, 2017
  • David Ford   Humility July, 2017
  • Richard Killgore  Generosity February, 2017
  • Peggy Geib Gratefulness January, 2017 
  • Dustin & Erikka Ault Initiative January, 2017
  • Chris Waugh Initiative January, 2017 
  • Nathan Walters Orderliness November, 2016 
  • Kris Rush Diligence March, 2016 
  • Jason Henley Compassion January, 2016 
  • Ray Vaughn Dependability August, 2015 
  • Jean Holt Sensitivity April, 2015 
  • Brian Maughan Availability April, 2015 
  • Chris Shorow Joyfulness October, 2014 
  • Virginia Peters Endurance September, 2014 
  • Bea Sprouse Discretion August, 2014 
  • Krista Law Creativity July, 2014 
  • Cora Stamps Initiative January, 2014 
  • Christy Fine Gentleness October, 2013 
  • Larry Tettleton Determination September, 2012 
  • Judy Farley Availability February, 2012 
  • Tana Stufflebean Thoroughness November, 2011 
  • Verla Raines Dependability November, 2011 
  • Mary Ann Coffman Discernment August, 2011 
  • Harry & Pat Knickerbacker Hospitality January, 2011 
  • David Johnson Diligence November, 2010 
  • Theresa Hoffhines Meekness October, 2010 
  • Scott Streller Security October, 2010 
  • Steve Kreidler Endurance August, 2010 
  • Diane Emmons Dependability July, 2010
  • Lauren Nelson-Faram Faith March, 2010